Portland.

It’s been a while since our last trip to Portland (Summer Solstice 2013 – I won’t forget it) and partly because we could get down there hands-free and within 2.5 hours thanks to Bolt Bus, we decided to head down for a quick weekend trip.  Back when I first graduated college, my focus was on food trucks, Voodoo Donuts and the nightlife. Without surprise, I didn’t give into any of those past temptations; and on this trip, opted to enjoy drinks at a hotel bar, forgo dessert and eat what sounded good, not what was “trending.” Just because. I often joke about my accelerated sense of old age, but 28 has been free of self-imposed expectations to do what I think I “should” be doing. It’s nice to finally just be. As long as I’m done “being” before my 9PM bedtime.

Strolls around the Pearl district have replaced dizzying schleps outside of night clubs and I’m very happy about it.

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

King Street Station from the Bolt Bus.

IMG_0814-0

Relics of old Chinatown.

IMG_0721

Food stall square.

IMG_0738

My favorite corner to photograph (near where the Pearl District hits Downtown).

IMG_0745

IMG_0736

Brick and mortar.

IMG_0723

Believe it or not, this wasn’t me.

IMG_0718

We stayed at the Heathman Hotel primarily because of its location Downtown, and also because of it’s spooky past. The Heathman is known as one of the PNW’s most haunted places, though we didn’t experience anything out of the ordinary aside from discovering that 50 Shades of Grey takes place there. That was haunting enough.

IMG_0735

Shopping local.

IMG_0754-0

Powell’s Books at night.

Leave a Reply

