Restaurant Roux

In honor of Mardi Gras, Sinae and I had dinner at Roux, Matt of “Where Ya At Matt?” food truck’s latest culinary contribution to Seattle.

IMG_0574

Creole and French influences.

IMG_0576

Hush puppies with cheddar and jalapeno. I don’t normally eat cheese except for on pizza, of course, but I made an exception for these. They were delicious and incredibly crisp on the outside – necessary when successfully making HPs.

IMG_0577

Pomme frites.

IMG_0578

Beet salad.

IMG_0579

I was too distracted by my hunger and forgot to take a shot of the fried chicken, but I hope this group shot speaks to you as it does for me. Man, I need some friend chicken right now.

My favorite is still Ma’Ono’s version, but Roux’s has moved past Kingfish Cafe’s fried chicken to second place in my opinion (RIP Kingfish, in more ways than one). Though Roux’s plate is a tad more affordable than Ma’Ono, and a bit less fussy (there’s no implication that the plate could and should be shared between multiple diners). It comes with sauce and two pickled okras. Simple as that.

Leave a Reply

