Beauty buy.

IMG_0063-3

My skin has always been the most familiar yet bewildering part of me. According to my middle school convictions, it was oily, then it was sensitive for a few years in high school, and then it was somewhere in the middle, or “combination,” for the last few years. So, when I found a beauty routine that worked well for my face, I stuck to it. Each morning consists of a few swipes of mineral powder, then spot coverage where needed. The “where needed” part feels like my entire face sometimes. After that, I’ll underscore my cheekbones with a darker shade of powder, fill in my sparse brows then apply some mascara. Anything beyond that requires additional ambition saved for the weekend or occasions that might involve an open bar.

When purchasing my Ibuki Cleanser, Nordstrom included a sample of Bobbi Brown’s BB cream with SPF 35. Since I really thought I had my makeup routine down like clock work, I didn’t think to try BB cream despite the buzz surrounding it. …. By now, I think you see where this post is going. 

After finally trying the sample last weekend, I immediately purchased the real thing. My face feels moisturized and looks brilliantly smooth after hours of wear. The application is completely different from what I’m used to and going from brush to sponge or fingers has been daunting, but the results are worth the change. An eraser sized droplet of cream can do more than any other face product I can imagine in that amount. My skin can look shiny without make up, and mineral powder could only do so much without looking cakey. Now my skin stays supple while looking matte for hours.

If you’re at Nordstrom or Sephora, ask them for a sample and let me know what you think. The desperate and beauty obsessed middle schooler in me will be cheering you on!

Leave a Reply

